AmaKhosi Guesthouse PTY, 17 Long Street, 7200 Hermanus-Sandbaai, South Africa - Reservation & Information: Tel. +27(0)28 316 3491

Hermanus Guesthouse


Hermanus is one of the most sought after holiday destinations for eco-tourist and nature lovers.

With its unparalleled scenic beauty, modern infrastructure, up market shops and endless recreation and adventure options, it is no wonder that Hermanus has grown in popularity during the last years. Visitors from near and far come to the town to enjoy its beauty and charm.

Hermanus is the best land-based whale watching destination in the world. Southern Right Whales visit Walker Bay from June through to December and can be viewed from aboard a boat, an airplane or the shore.
Hermanus is home to the world's only Whale Crier who blows his kelp horn when whales are spotted along the central sea route.

Despite being a cosmopolitan town, Hermanus has retained some of its historical fisherman's village heritage. A number of craft markets sell a range of interesting wares, a marimba band frequently adds a vibrant atmosphere on different occasions and the old harbor with its restored fishing boats and the whale museum gives a glimpse of times past.

Whether you choose to spend a day on one of the spectacular beaches or playing a round of golf, Hermanus has something for everyone.


In the early 1800's Hermanus Pieters, who was a shepherd and teacher, followed an elephant trail leading through the Hemel-en-Aarde Valley to the sea where he came upon a spring just to the west of the Mossel River farm. He found this to be an ideal spot to graze his sheep during the summer. He also spread the word to the farmers of the district. The spring came to be known as Hermanuspietersfontein but was shortened to Hermanus when municipal status was given to the town in 1904. The first school was built in 1868 at St Peter's Mission School, attached to the newly built St Peter's Church. The bay was named after a Royal Naval officer called Walker. The farmers may have discovered Hermanus, but it was the fishermen who settled here. With an abundance of fish, the village attracted more and more families. By the early 1900s word of the excellent fishing, outstanding beauty and "healing" air had spread across the world. It even became fashionable for Harley Street doctors in London to prescribe visits to Hermanus' "champagne air" to their patients.

One of the first regular visitors to Hermanus was Sir William Hoy, General Manager of the Railways. He ensured the natural beauty of Hermanus would stay unspoilt by blocking any attempt to extend the Bot River railway line to the village. His legacy lives on in the Hermanus Station that has no lines or trains and the hill that lies in the middle of the village, Hoy's Koppie, where he and his wife are buried. Hoy's Koppie not only provides an easy walk though fynbos to a lookout point over the village, but is also an important link to the earliest inhabitants of the area, the Khoisan. Klipgat Cave, a large overhang on the southern side of the koppie, has archaeological evidence of these indigenous people inhabiting the cave long before Hermanus Pieters came across it.

From 1992 the town was promoted as a land based whale watching spot of international repute. And today Hermanus is one of the most known tourism hot spots throughout Souht Africa.


Town proclamation
After a petition by residents of Hermanus Peters Fontein in 1879 to obtain some form of control over their affairs and acquire security of tenure for their humble dwellings, the proclamation was published that established the town. In the Cape Government Gazette 7309 dated 10 July 1891 the names of the first three members of the new Village Management Board are published: James John Warrington, Daniel van Blommestein and Christoffel Henn.